Change is Good

I started blogging in 2010. The first blog longestdays.com is now defunct, but when I wrote it was a mixture of parenting, books I was reading, spirituality and whatever was on my mind. I abandoned that blog in 2016 when I decided to focus my blogging on helping build early literacy skills in pre-readers. I wrote many book reviews, had a few author interviews and while I still remain passionate about early literacy, it was clear that my blog couldn’t break through the noise of so many other well established blogs.

My career had also changed. I left a literacy non-profit and went back to work as a children’s librarian. My days were spent doing storytimes, recommending books to tweens and teens and ordering audiobooks, ebooks, video games, and films. In my personal life, I focused on writing romance and rom coms. Again, my blogging changed.

Why Audiobooks?

Now is time for another change. All my old Building Future Reader articles are available on this site. In fact, it is the same site. I have decided to rebrand and refocus on reviews of audiobooks for kids and YA. Audiobooks often get a bad rap as being cheating or not real reading.

I have to heartily disagree.

As you will see in upcoming posts, they are so much more than listening to a book. The most important reason I want to focus on audiobooks is to get rid of the stigma and help more kids connect with books and reading in ways that are accessible to them. I want to change the dialogue about reading and advocate the use of audiobooks in classrooms and at home.

Audiobooks aren’t cheating. They are reading. And I hope this blog sheds light to this ongoing debate.

Change is good. It helps us grow, learn, and live new experiences. I don’t see ending the Building Future Readers blog as the end, but rather a new chapter. Thank you for supporting me over the past four years and I hope to continue seeing you in my new blog, My Audiobook Librarian.

The Brave by James Bird

The Brave by James Bird

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Get ready to ugly cry.

“Great, I lost a fight, and now I’m going to have to inform my dad that I’m the kid who gets picked on every day. How much of a disappointment can one son be.”

That one line sums how Collin understands his relationship with his father. He’s the weird kid, the disappointment, the boy no one wants to fix. After another school kicks Collin out for fighting, his father sends him to live on the Ojibwa Reservation with the mother he has never met.

He doesn’t believe this time will be any different. His mother will grow tired of his constant counting of words, he will get picked on at school, and he won’t be able to hold back the fear that drives him to anger. This time is different. With a family and town who supports him, he learns what bravery means. Through the friendship of a girl who fights a battle worse than his, he learns how to accept himself and accept the love his mother offers him.

Perfect for fans of Rein Rain, Fish in a Tree, Out of My Mind, and Counting By 7’s. This book’s universal theme of accepting oneself in the face of adversity will touch the hearts of all readers.

Photo by Mateusz Dach on Pexels.com

This book is perfect for readers 10-14. While the book is not autobiographical, Bird had multiple learning disabilities that made school difficult for him. He also lived with his single, Native American mother and moved from apartment to apartment, and school to school. The author’s soul is in this book and it would be a great book discussion book about neuro-diverse people, poverty, and modern Native American life.

I received a Netgalley ebook for a review. I was not paid for the review. All opinions are my own. I am an Amazon Affiliate. If you click on the link below it will take you to Amazon, where if you make a purchase I receive a percentage of the sale.





View all my reviews